I’d like to play football like David Beckham. I could watch videos of him in action. I could study what he does. I might even persuade him to tutor me. All this might even lead to a small improvement in my abilities. But it’s not going to turn me into a great footballer.

I want to be like Jesus. I can observe him in action as I read the Gospels. I can study the life he lived and the love he showed. I could try very hard to imitate him. But, at best, that would lead me only to a small, short-lived improvement, and indeed even that small improvement would probably only make me proud.

I need more than an example. I need help. I need someone to change me. Trying to imitate Jesus on its own only leaves me feeling a failure. I can’t be him. I can’t match up. I need sorting out. I need rescuing. I need forgiveness.

The great news is that Jesus is not only my example, but also my Redeemer.

Tim Chester, You Can Change

Leave a comment

April 20, 2011 · 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

