a prayer for exams

Father,

I recognise this feeling. It’s Dread. Fear. Worry. Trepidation. Anxiety. It has many names, but the generic emotion is the same: a weight which presses down on my heart, telling me I’m not good enough; I’m not ready; there isn’t enough time; I have lost all hope.

Some of these things might be true. Indeed, I might not have enough time. Indeed, I am probably not going to be able to finish or master the material to a requisite standard. But one thing I know is true: I have a hope. My hope, my identity, my value, is built on Jesus Christ. He is my cornerstone.

Father, I need not fear – You are with me. I need not worry about the exams – the outcome is in Your hands. I need not trust the sweetest frame – I wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

Because of Jesus I have found favour in the eyes of the only one whose opinion matters: my creator, my God, my Father; who loves me immensely more than I could ever imagine. And neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation – and that includes exams! – can separate me from Your irrepressible love.

O Father, help me to remember this. Help me, when darkness surrounds, and when the situation seems bleak. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will not fear. Why? For You are with me; Your rod and staff comfort me. Surely goodness and mercy shall pursue me, all the days of my life.

And I will dwell in the house of my Lord, my Father, forever.Where I am meant to be.

Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

